top of page

Rufus Jesse, 2018's new age hippy.

I caught up Rufus Jesse aka Rufus Stewart, formerly Catch 22 and also one half of Baba&Ganoush to get to know him as a musician and hear his brand spanking new release.

What do you do? I only moved to Leeds a year and half ago as I fell in love with the place whilst visiting friends. I have many varying interests within and outside of music. I currently find myself totally engrossed in the art of electronic music. particularly with an affinity for the versatility of house music. I DJ, produce and have a good grasp of multiple instruments. I also work in a nightclub on the bar, but more recently find myself learning a lot more about the technology involved. I am learning how to program the lights as well as parts of live sound engineering.

How did you get into it? As long as I can remember my family (particularly my mother and father) have been massive collectors and lovers of music in all forms. It was always surrounding me as I was growing up and even though I didn't know what exactly it was I was listening to, I was soaking it all up. Sometimes I find music now that evokes deep memories for me of childhood, even if I never specifically remember hearing it before. As I've grown older, the finding of new music has become almost obsession. The natural step following was to start recreating the sounds/emotions I've grown up with in my own music.

What does art/music mean to you? Art in all forms is the one way we as humans can express unabashedly (one would hope) our innermost emotions and thoughts. In everyday life our chance to express ourselves as individuals is heavily restricted. Throughout history art has repeatedly been a tool for us to reflect on our lives, where we've been and where we're heading (and whether we like it or not). It can communicate ideas where language falls short. The best part of it is the meaning and the method is totally up to you. I chose to indulge in music as it's where I'm most competent and at home, but I like to have a firm understanding of art in as many forms as possible. Greater comprehension of one form leads to greater comprehension of the next. I feel like I have a lot to say as well as learn, but words fail me where music elevates me.

Who’s your favourite artist of all time? This question always troubles me especially when I wish not to bore people with a big convoluted answer. If I was to say of all time I would probably have to say The Doors. I went through a period of mad obsession with the band when I'd just turned 18 to the point which my friends actually conducted a sort of intervention. No gathering/party/any day of the week was spared a ridiculous dose of me playing/talking about them. I just feel that no other band has ever really had such a unique sound the way they did. The marrying of so many distinct yet weirdly complementary sounds. Jazz, blues, rock, flamenco, pop, big band and poetry, what a family! My favourite song is "When The Music's Over", go watch the live version at the Hollywood Bowl 1968 and you'll see what I mean.

What’s your poison? Ride Cymbals. I joke. I've never really been a big drinker but when I do a glass of red wine really hits the spot. Note: If you're performing on a boat whilst using thousands of pounds worth of equipment, don't get a glass of red wine, It's a terrible idea.

Favourite place in Yorkshire? Although I have only a very recent knowledge of the area in and around Leeds, I don't think anything can beat a walk around Ilkley Moor, simply gorgeous.

"Very excited to present you with my latest track "We Want The World"It samples one of my favorite songs of all time. "When The Musics Over" by the Doors. I've wanted to sample it since before I ever started making music so I'm absolutely ecstatic with the way it's turned out. I've always been very interested in the late 60's, particularly the hippie era and all the amazing change and art that was being made at the time. Also personally as my grandma would of been in her late teens in California at this time studying at UCLA.

The footage was sourced from the 1986 documentary "The Hippie Revolution" and I have been given full permission from the office of the director Jack O'Connell to release the song with the footage.I shall be releasing this through a new alias and will be following up with more music very soon.Come take a trip with me."

Watch the video here:


bottom of page